The Township of Tiny has a rich cultural heritage, which the Heritage Advisory Committee is striving to preserve, promote and protect.
In 1842 provisions began to establish municipal Councils in every district of Upper Canada. The Corporation of the Township of Tiny and Tay was created by the Parliament of Canada under the Baldwin Act of 1850. The Township of Tiny was named by a by-law that same year. The first meeting of the Municipal Councils was on January 30, 1851 in which Tiny and Tay were united Townships under the first Reeve, Samuel Fraser. The two Townships remained united until 1869.
Throughout the nineteenth century, early settlers began to arrive and establish farms in the Township. Louis DesChenaux, a Drummond Islander, was the first to settle in 1833 east of Lafontaine and was followed by waves of French immigrants from Quebec. The area around Perkinsfield (which was originally known as St. Patrick's) was settled by Irish immigrants, then later by French immigrants from Quebec.
Settlements developed along the Wye River in the villages of Wyevale and Wyebridge due to the operating mills, while the shorelines of Georgian Bay flourished with cottages due to their natural beauty.
Below is a selection of the photographs which demonstrate the Township's diverse history. These and other photographs, as well as the rest of the Memory Box and Archival Fonds Collection, are available in print for public viewing upon request. For additional information about the collection and the viewing process, please visit the Memory Box and Archival Fonds Collection page.